Full of the Word

This week has been an awesome time in the Lord. Sunday – Wednesday we had an evangelist  at church. I was only able to attend Sunday’s services but he made a couple of statements that stuck with me. He talked about face-to-face conversations with God. I don’t know of anyone who has had a burning bush experience with God like Moses, but I do believe we’ve all heard the voice of God in some form. That unexplained, total, complete, sudden peace that comes during the storm is God saying “I’ve got this.” You know when a scripture comes to mind at just the right moment? That is God reminding you of His promises. When you wake up in the morning with a song of praise in your head, that is God saying “good morning” and wishing you a blessed day. Then there is God’s precious presence. When I was still able to stand, my favorite part of the service was praise and worship, because that’s when I got to dance with Jesus. I loved just swaying to the music, raising my hands, as He washed away the stress and tension of the week and refueled me for the week to come.

Another thing the evangelist mentioned was a book written maybe ten or fifteen years ago that took the Christian community by storm. He pointed out how the book actually taught humanism. I’m not going to mention the book or the author because I have not verified this claim. However, the greatest ministers and Christian authors are all susceptible to human error. Thousands, if not millions, of people entered into a relationship with the Lord at a Billy Graham revival, but even Billy Graham is not immune to human error. Joyce Meyers, Beth Moore, Max Lucado, all have written books that are read and studied by prayer groups, Sunday Schools, and churches. I have confidence in these speakers and authors. I know they are Godly people and I would rec commend their materials to anyone. I don’t know of any incident where these ministers of God’s Word got it wrong, but that doesn’t mean they are immune to human error. My point is that if you but your faith in man or base your spiritual journey on man’s teaching, instead of God, you are leaving yourself wide open to the lies of Satan. Let’s look at a Biblical example. Solomon was the smartest richest man that ever existed, but Solomon gave into sin. If a man with the wealth of knowledge and wisdom that Solomon had, can get it wrong, what makes us think the well-known Christian teachers today won’t get it wrong. Over the last twenty plus years I have sat in services and Bible studies, and thought “that doesn’t sound right” or was confused by contradictions. In some cases my confusion was lack of knowledge or spiritual maturity. Other times the source of my head scratching was false teachings or teaching based on doctrine, rather than the Bible. So, my question to you is, when a well-known Christian minister or leader gets it wrong, do we cast them out of the Christian community and dismiss everything they’ve ever done or said? In my opinion, no. Do we go back and reexamine previous teachings? Perhaps. Or do we proceed with caution, keeping in mind they are human? Yes. Do we disregard future teachings? It depends on their mistake. If they continue to teach things that don’t line up with the Word of God, then yes we should disregard future teachings. If they acknowledge their mistake and repent, and/or past and future teaching do line up with the Word, then no we should not disregard their future teachings.

In the Sunday School class I attended, we discussed Abemilech (Judges 9). There were two things that stuck out to me in our discussion. One, people are dying and going to Hell and we sit in our pews like it’s okay or it’s normal. We overlook so much sin these days. People, even Christians, have accepted that times change, like that’s the way it’s supposed to be, but God HASN’T changed. What was considered a sin 2,000 years ago is STILL sin. God destroyed Sodom and Gomorrah due to homosexuality. The Bible specifically says that homosexuality is an abomination (Leviticus 18:22 and 20:13), yet we have churches that welcome the LGBT community with open arms. I know parents who allow their teenagers to be sexually active. They say “well they know I don’t approve, but I’d rather know they are being safe than for them to do it behind my back.” No. No. No. Hebrews 13:4 says that marriage should be honored and the marriage bed kept pure. Teens who practice abstinence fear the consequences and have respect for themselves, their parents, their future spouse, and most importantly God.

The second topic that stood out to me during Sunday School was hate. Anger and unforgiveness is something I have struggled with. I have experienced anger at a level that it scared me. It is a road you should resist with all your might. Once you start traveling down the road of anger, bitterness, and hate, it is hard to turn around and go a different direction. Anger and bitterness is a toxic poison. It is lethal and often leads to a spiritual death.

Wednesday night I went to a service, where Keith Becker spoke about the bad decisions he and his brother made during their life. Those bad decisions led to Keith’s brother Todd’s death. How many of us have survived a bad decision (or a series of bad decisions)  that should have ended in tragedy? How many of us know someone who made one bad decision that cost someone their life? As I write this post the news is on and I have listened and watched three tragic stories, due to bad decisions. Three teenage boys were killed while breaking into a house. Friends of one of the boys said it was out of character for his friend to be involved in something like that. A police officer was sentenced to 40 years for firing multiple shots into a car and killing a young boy and injuring the boys unarmed father. A church bus hit head-on by a pick-up, killing thirteen of the church members, the driver reported as driving irradically minutes before the accident.

As I sat in these services this week, I had so many thoughts overwhelming my brain. It’s times like that I wish there was a record button in my brain. I didn’t have any paper to write on and even if I did, I’m not sure I could have written fast enough. I could talk into a recorder, but I don’t think the speaker or the people around me would appreciate that idea. I’m joking, I would never do that. I tried to share the main thoughts I came away with this week. I hope you found this post thought provoking.

Until another day,

AC

Leave a Reply

