Back in the Cow Business

My dad called me last week and told me to get ready because he had just place an order for cows. I reminded him of what happen last time we had cows, then proceeded to ask a lot of questions.

I like cows. All the time I was growing up we had cows. It’s what I know, my comfort zone. But for Daddy, it can be very frustrating and he has a tendency to voice that frustration…. very loudly. Cows go where they want to go, do what they want to do. The calmest, most gentle cow can turn into a mad tornado in seconds if she thinks her baby is in danger.

Cows are a lot like women when it comes to their babies. I’m sure all you moms out there know what I’m talking about. You’ll tear through a concrete wall, run flat over any one who gets in your way,  to protect your baby. Am I right? Needless to say working with cows makes life interesting and exciting.  

When I was growing up we had this cow that had the best calf every year, but she was meaner than snot. She put practically everyone who ever worked cattle with us over the fence. I remember when we sold her Daddy told the sale barn worker to watch her. I guess he thought he could handle her and got in the pen with her to put the sale sticker on her. She knocked him to the ground and then proceeded to jump up and down on him. Don’t worry, he survived. I guess you could say all that “mud” kept him from getting seriously hurt. He walked away with a few bumps and bruises and I’m sure he felt it the next day, but he lived to tell about it.

Anyway, back to 2011, Daddy ordered a load of cows. They arrived last Sunday. They look good or they will once we get some weight on them. Most know to come to feed when Daddy shakes a bucket. None of these cows have tried to run anyone over and they seem pretty gentle.  But that could all change once they calve. Two days after they arrived Daddy called and wanted to know if my couch was free. I asked him what he did and he said the cows got in moms yard and she was not happy. Of course he tried to blame me, but I wasn’t there and he’s the one who left the gate open. 

I’m really excited because what is frustrating to Daddy, is an adrenaline rush to me. I can’t wait to see those little babies running across the pasture, tails straight up in the air, and kicking up their heels. Cows are a long-term investment and take a while to see a return, but in my opinion you have more options.That’s why I like cows – adrenaline rush, carefree baby calves, and options.

I’ll keep you posted.

Until another day,

AC

Leave a Reply

