Vaction 2011 – Day 6

We left The Dalles, Oregon around 8:00 Pacific / 10:00 AM Central Time. We followed the Columbia River along  I – 84. The bridges crossing the river are really high so the barges can pass through easily, most raise up in the middle. I took a picture of Bonneville Lock and Dam. It raises or lowers the barges as they enter the river from the ocean. Daddy explained it but I can’t remember all the details of how it works.

We stopped at Multnomah Falls. I saw a picture of it in this big travel book I have of scenic drives in the United States. From where we sat in the parking lot it didn’t look anything like the book, I felt jipt. Once we realized we had to cross under the interstate through a pedestrian tunnel I was a little relieved. But when I saw it up close It was far more spectacular than the book. It is divided into upper and lower falls. The upper falls are 542 feet and the lower falls are 69 feet. There is a foot bridge where the fall splits. I couldn’t believe this gorgeous natural wonder was hidden just feet from the interstate and a busy railroad track. This was the second place on this trip I could have spent hours just looking and absorbing the peaceful energy. The Multnomah Falls and the Columbia River Gorge we saw yesterday would be ideal places to meditate, relax, and unwind.

We drove on through Portland, Oregon and on to Brooks where we fueled up. While driving through Portland we went through a traffic tunnel which was a first for me. When we pulled in to the service station they had people who pumped your gas. It’s what they do in Oregon, kind of cool if you’re not in a hurry. Gas was $3.57 per gallon.

We arrived at my Uncle A’s (my mom’s half-brother) house in Salem a little after 11:00 AM Pacific Time. We hadn’t seen him in about 15 years. He is the same age as I am, is married, and has two boys. They have the cutest little house that they’ve remodeled. We had a really nice visit. We went to lunch at a restaurant called Shari’s. It had sandwiches, salads, breakfast, and pie, among other things. A’s mom had lunch with us, she’s really nice, I had never met her, well I dd but I was only 18 months old. After lunch we went to the vineyard A’s sister works at. She was pretty cool, it was like a big reunion. The vineyard was up on a hill and had a beautiful view. We went by where A’s wife works and met her and then went by and met his sons. By then it was time to move on down the road. It was hard to say good-bye, we definetly needed more time. We left a little before 4:00 PM Pacific Time and headed for the coast.

We topped our tank off at Crewell, Oregon and drove this narrow winding road to Reesport, Oregon. I took some pictures of several elk grazing, yet another peaceful place to sit and enjoy God’s wonderful creations. The trees were growing along the steep hills on both sides of the road in some places. The branches touched forming a canopy across the road. It was like driving through a tunnel off green. When we got to Reesport there was a big Dune Fest going on. There were a lot sand dunes next to the ocean in this area. Some people were staying in tents while others were decked out to the nines. You could tell the people who were just there to play and those who were serious. I thought of a teacher I work with, he and his sons are really into motorcycle racing. I saw my first real life lighthouse, it was much smaller than I thought it would be. Mom said there not big on the west coast like they are on east coast. The bay was called Winchester Bay and the lighthouse Umpqua Lighthouse.

We arrived in Coos Bay about 8:00 PM Pacific Time. We checked in to the motel and hurried out to a place called Sunset Bay, another place I read about in my travel book. It was true to its name, the sunset was more beautiful than I could have imagined. It was like something out of a movie or a postcard. I took a lot of pictures, of course. I had to put my sweater on, it was a little chilly. I could have sat there for hours. I know I keep saying that but words and pictures cannot express or capture the beauty of these places. This is by far turning out to be the most memorable vacations I’ve ever had. Before heading back to the motel we stopped at a Dairy Queen and ate a very late dinner, but I got my dip cone. We don’t have very many Dairy Queens back home and I love their dip cones. I enjoyed every bite, too. Today was by far the busiest day yet.

Until another day,

AC

Leave a Reply

