Vacation 2011 – Day 3

On day 3, July 30, 2011, was also the one year anniversary of my Grandpa Luke’s home going. This trip and the beautiful scenery we had entered helped keep my mind off missing him. We left Billings, Montana around 7:30 AM Mountain / 8:30 AM Central Time. The continental breakfast at the motel was less than desirable, I had toast and fruit punch. I took pictures along the way from Billings to Bozeman. At Bozeman we stopped at a visitor center and a Senior group was giving away free coffee, tea, lemonade, muffins, donuts, and pastries, I thought “hello, Montana.” I had a cream filled chocolate donut, it was delicious and more than made up for my breakfast this morning. The weather was cool and I almost needed a light jacket.

We fueled up in Butte, Montana for $3.69 per gallon. I took more pictures along the drive from Bozeman. We had a picnic lunch at a rest area west of Butte around 1:00 PM Mountain / 2:00 PM Central time. The weather was awesome. From there we took the scenic loop at Drummond, Montana and headed toward Kalispell. In Drummond there was an old set of cattle pens and a sign that said used cow lot, wish I had gotten a picture. The scenic loop was curvy but amazing. The road wound through the massive mountains and then all of a sudden you were in the luscious green valley. There was a river running along the road with rumbling rapids. Daddy says this is the only way to see the real countryside. The scenery along the interstate is beautiful, but two lane roads take you to places that are breathtaking.

Eventually, we connected up with Highway 83  which led us along several lakes including Clearwater and Swan Lake. On one of the lakes was a big fancy house on an island. It took up the whole island! I thought “I could think of better places to have such a big fancy house. I was sitting on the wrong side of the truck to take a picture, of course, so I didn’t get a picture of it. We really couldn’t see the lakes very well, there were tall pine trees on both sides of the road so it felt like we were closed in. There were a few tourist type towns, but looking at the crowds of people along the streets I decided this place was more where the rich come to play. Not that there is anything wrong with that, it was just so crowded and closed in, I would rather go somewhere more spacious and relaxing.

We came out at Big Fork, Montana and continued on our way  Kalispell. We arrived at my Great Aunt and Great Uncle’s house around 5:00 PM Mountain / 6:00 PM Central Time. We ate dinner, a pasta and shrimp dish, and visited for a while. Before we knew it, it was time for bed.

Until another day,

AC

Leave a Reply

