Grandpa Luke

Well readers, I have just gotten back from two weeks in Montana and on the west coast. But that’s not what today’s post is about. While I was gone the year anniversary of my Grandpa Luke’s home going passed. On July 28, 2010 I was working at the school preparing for the new school year, when my Dad called. He said that my mom wouldn’t be coming to the school to help me. He told me the nursing home my Grandpa Luke (my mom’s dad) had called and said he didn’t have much time left. As I was preparing to leave the school I heard a dear teacher friend in the hall. She and I share prayer requests and praise reports. It is nice to work with people who you can share what God is doing in your life with. I told her that the family had been called in and asked for her to remember my family in her prayers. She said she would and gave me some words of encouragement. I immediately felt a sense of relief, peace, and comfort. I went home, took a shower, packed a few days worth of clothes, and was on my way.

As I reached the edge of town, where my Grandpa was, the tears came. I took a deep breath and continued the few blocks to the nursing home. As pulled into the parking lot he tears came with more force, once again I swallowed back the tears and made my way inside. All I could think was “I’m on my way to say good-bye forever. I still remember the pain in my chest and the way my throat kept closing up. Mom knew I needed some time alone with Grandpa so she suggested everyone go across the street and get a bite eat. I kept trying to think of things to say to him, to let him know I was there, but what do you say when you know there’s not much time.

That was Wednesday afternoon, Grandpa passed Friday morning, July 30, 2010. The funeral was the following Tuesday, August 3rd. During the days following Grandpa’s home going I stood back watching my parents. My dad was so in tune to my moms needs. He gave her space when she needed space, and comfort when she needed comfort. He was the rock that held her up and a soft place to land when she broke down. It was amazing to see how thirty-six years of marriage can build that kind of support system. I also thought, mom will be there for Daddy in that way some day, little did I know how soon that day would be.

There have been many disappointments and heart breaks over the last year, and joys too. Over the next few months I will be sharing these disappointments, heart breaks, and joys. But first things first, over the next few days I will be posting my travel journal and sharing every memory of my trip to Montana and Oregon to visit relatives and to the west coast.

Until another day,

AC

 

Leave a Reply

