Lightning Bugs

Lightning Bugs

by: A C Hayes 

It’s almost dark

The breeze feels so good at the end of a hot summer day

Lightning Bugs are waking up as the world goes to sleep

One, two, three…they dance around in the night

 

I watch and go back in time when life was a much simpler place

A time where the biggest decision was what classes I should take and which boy to date

Now I must decide which bills need to be paid and which ones can wait

 

Lightning Bugs are so carefree

They come out just before the stars light up the night

I remember when I was young and carefree and love lit up the sky

Now I go to bed at ten and sleeping late means waking up at eight

 

Oh to go back to those hot summer nights, where young love lights up the night and I was carefree and full of dreams

Leave a Reply

